Opposition members elected to position of Majlis Speaker, Deputy Speaker

Haveeru Daily
May 30, 2009 - 12:00

Members of the largest opposition party, the Dhivehi Rayyithunge Party (DRP), have been elected to the post of Speaker of the People’s Majlis and Deputy Speaker, at the first sitting of the newly sworn-in People’s Majlis last Thursday.

DRP member and the Vaavu Keyodhoo MP Abdulla Shahid was elected to the position of the Speaker of the People’s Majlis after winning 42 of the 75 votes. He was contesting against Maldivian Democratic Party’s (MDP) proposed candidate Ibrahim Mohamed Solih (Ibu), who won 33 votes. The required number of votes to elect the Speaker of the Majlis is 38 votes.

The position of the Deputy Speaker of the People’s Majlis for the next five years was won by the Deputy Leader of the People’s Alliance (PA) and the Meemu Dhiggaru MP, Ahmed Nazim. He won with 41 votes in favour after competing against MDP’s proposed candidate Ahmed Hamza. Hamza won 33 votes. Although 75 MPs participated in the vote, one of the votes was declared invalid.

  • Bookmark
  • Print


To have full access to the interactive features available in Haveeru Online please register or .

  • BookmarkBookmark
  • PrintPrint