Parliament approves members for CSC, HRCM

Haveeru Daily
Aug 12, 2010 - 12:00
  • Nominees approved for CSC (first row/R-L): Dr Mohamed Latheef, Khadheeja Adam, Abdulla Jihad, Ahmed Hassan Didi and (Last row/L) Mohamed Fahmee Hassan. Nominees sanctioned for HRCM (Last row/R-L): Jeehan Mahmood, Mariyam Azra Ahmed and Ahmed Tholal.

MALE, August 12, 2010 (HNS) – The parliament Thursday approved five members to Civil Service Commission (CSC) and three members to Human Rights Commission of the Maldives (HRCM).

Current CSC Commissioner Dr Mohamed Latheef (72/73 votes), CSC members Mohamed Fahmee Hassan (71/73 votes) and Khadheeja Adam (69/72 votes), Permanent Secretary at President’s Office Ahmed ‘Radium’ Hassan Didi (71/73 votes) and former Finance Minister Abdulla Jihad (71/73 votes) were endorsed to CSC.

The parliament sanctioned current HRCM member Mariyam Azra Ahmed (69/71 votes), Director National Preventive Mechanism at the commission Jeehan Mahmood (58/72 votes) and Assistant Director at Heritage Department Ahmed Tholal (70/72 votes) to HRCM.

The parliamentary committee, however, rejected present HRCM Commissioner Ahmed Saleem among the eight nominations made by President Mohamed Nasheed.

Press Secretary at President’s Office Mohamed Zuhair said the President would nominate another two candidates to the five-member HRCM soon.

  • Bookmark
  • Print


To have full access to the interactive features available in Haveeru Online please register or .

  • BookmarkBookmark
  • PrintPrint