Committee gives go ahead for VP, Ministers approval

Ahmed Hamdhoon, Haveeru Online
Apr 04, 2012 - 03:52
  • Some members of the new cabinet taking their oath of office. PHOTO/ PRESIDENT'S OFFICE

Parliamentary Government Accountability Committee today gave the green light for granting approval for vice-President and the 14 ministers nominated by President Dr Mohamed Waheed Hassan Manik.

The go ahead to grant approval for the vice president and ministers was passed with a six member majority out of the ten present at the committee.

Three members who voted against include, Feydhoo MP Alhan Fahmy, Machchangoalhi South MP Mariya Ahmed Didi and Madaveli MP Mohamed Nazim.
The committee’s chair and Hanimaadhoo MP Mohamed Mujuthaz abstained.

After the decision by the committee which has pro-government political parties’ majority, a report of the committee has been forwarded to the Speaker.

It is believed that the approval issue would be included in the agenda during next week where a decision would be taken on the Parliament floor.

While the decision had been taken to give the green light to granting approval to VP and the ministers, the issue of amending the framework of the government had been forwarded to the committee yesterday for assessment.

  • Bookmark
  • Print


To have full access to the interactive features available in Haveeru Online please register or .

  • BookmarkBookmark
  • PrintPrint